Speaker - Gloria Macapagal Arroyo

 Gloria Macapagal Arroyo  Thumbnail


Gloria Macapagal Arroyo is the 14th and current President of the Philippines. A professor of economics, Arroyo entered government in 1987, serving as assistant secretary and undersecretary of the Department of Trade and Industry upon the invitation of President Corazon Aquino. After serving as a senator from 1992 to 1998, she was elected to the vice presidency under President Joseph Estrada, despite having run on an opposing ticket. After Estrada was accused of corruption, she resigned her cabinet position as Secretary of Social Welfare and Development and joined the growing opposition to the president, who faced impeachment. Estrada was soon forced from office by what its advocates would ascribe to peaceful street demonstrations of the EDSA Revolution of 2001, but which critics credit to a conspiracy among political and business elites, military top brass and Catholic Church bishop Jaime Cardinal Sin. Arroyo was sworn into the presidency at around noon on January 20, 2001 amidst the EDSA II crowd, hours before Estrada left Malacanang. She was elected to a full six-year presidential term in the controversial May 2004 Philippine elections, and was sworn in on June 30, 2004.

1 Program

Rebooting the Global Economy

01.31.09 | 01:07:20 min | 5 comments