Speaker - Sydney Ganis

 Sydney  Ganis  Thumbnail


Sid Ganis was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tuesday night (8/23) by the organization's Board of Governors. Ganis, who is beginning his 19th year as a governor representing the public relations branch, has served as first vice president of the Academy for the past two years. He succeeds Frank Pierson, who had served the maximum four consecutive one-year terms in the office. Robert Rehme, an executives branch governor and past Academy president, was elected first vice president; actors branch governor Tom Hanks and music branch governor Arthur Hamilton were elected vice presidents, sound branch governor Donald C. Rogers was elected treasurer and actors branch governor Kathy Bates was elected secretary. Pierson automatically will serve this year as immediate past president, an officer slot. Hanks has not previously served as an officer of the Academy. Rehme served as president for five terms, once in 1992-93 and again for the four years 1997 through 2001. Hamilton, Bates and Rogers have all served in a variety of Academy offices in prior years. Ganis was first elected to the Board of Governors in 1973 and served until 1977. He served another two years in 1979-1981 and was elected to the Academy board again in 1992 and served the maximum nine consecutive years. He was returned by his branch in 2002 for a three-year term and was re-elected this year for three more years. Ganis founded Out of the Blue…Entertainment, which is housed on the Sony lot, in 1996. Out of the Blue currently is in post-production on "Akeelah and the Bee" for Lions Gate Entertainment, and in pre-production on "I Dream of Jeannie" for Columbia Pictures. Ganis also has recently produced "Mr. Deeds" and "Big Daddy" for his company. Prior to founding Out of the Blue, Ganis held various positions at Sony Pictures, including vice chairman of Columbia Pictures and president of worldwide marketing for Columbia/Tri-Star Motion Picture Companies. Before joining Sony, Ganis served for five years at Paramount Pictures as president of the motion picture group and before that was the studio's president of world-wide marketing. Previously, Ganis was senior vice president of Lucasfilm, Ltd. Academy board members serve three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive terms in any one office.

1 Program

Film Lumineux

05.30.08 | 01:17:08 min | 0 comments