Speaker - Eric Maskin

 Eric  Maskin  Thumbnail


Eric Maskin received the 2007 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics (with L. Hurwicz and R. Myerson) for laying the foundations of mechanism design theory. He has also made contributions to game theory, contract theory, social choice theory, political economy, and other areas of economics.

He received his A.B. and Ph.D. from Harvard and was a postdoctoral fellow at Cambridge University. He was a faculty member at MIT from 1977-1984, Harvard from 1985-2000, and the Institute for Advanced Study from 2000-2011. He rejoined the Harvard faculty in 2012.

He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and a fellow of the Econometric Society, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the British Academy, the European Economic Association, the Royal Spanish Academy of Economics and Finance, and the Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory. He is an honorary fellow of St John’s College, Cambridge and Jesus College, Cambridge. He is an honorary professor of four universities and the recipient of six honorary doctorates. Among other prizes, he has received the Kempe Award in environmental economics, the EFR-Business Week Award, the Harvard Centennial Medal, and the Cristobal Gabarron Foundation International Award in Economics.

He has served as editor of the Quarterly Journal of Economics, Economics Letters, and the Economic Theory Series (World Scientific Publishing) and as associate or advisory editor of several other journals. He is a past president of the Econometric Society and the current president of the Game Theory Society. He is the director of the Jerusalem School in Economic Theory.

1 Program

Economic Actors

09.21.12 | 00:42:28 min | 0 comments